Rape and Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse

Contact Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys at Kelly, Parker & Cohen today for your FREE CONSULTATION.

The consequences of a rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse conviction (IDSI) can include lengthy jail time and significant fines. If you are convicted of rape or IDSI, you will also be required to register with the sex offender database, which can affect your ability to obtain a job, and even affect your day-to-day relationships with others.

Rape

In Pennsylvania, you can be found guilty of rape if:

  • You had non-consensual sexual intercourse with someone;
  • You used force or threat of force to do so.
  • The person was younger than 13 years old.

Consent cannot be given by someone who is unconscious, unaware, or whose decision making is impaired or by someone who suffers from a mental incapacity. Rape is considered a first-degree felony. Penalties for a rape conviction can include up to 20 years of jail time, and a fine of up to $25,000. In cases where you drugged the victim to rape them, you may be subject to additional jail time.

The offense is considered rape of a child if the victim is younger than 13. Rape of a child is also a first-degree felony, and a conviction has penalties that can include up to 20 years of jail time. However, if you injure the child in the process of the rape, you may be subject to more severe penalties.

Involuntary Deviate Sexual Intercourse (IDSI)

This offense is similar to rape, except that it covers sexually deviate behavior instead of sexual intercourse. Similar to a rape charge, if the victim is drugged, unconscious or mentally ill, they may be unable to consent. IDSI is considered a first-degree felony, which can include jail time up to 20 years, and a $25,000 fine. Also like rape, you can be sentenced to additional jail time if you gave the victim a drug that rendered them incapable of resisting your IDSI.

The offense of IDSI with a child occurs if you have deviate sex with a child who is younger than 13 years old, even if the child consents. This offense is also considered a first-degree felony, which means you can be imprisoned for up to 20 years. However, if you injure the child in the process of the sexually deviate act, the punishment you receive may be more severe.

Being charged with rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse — especially if you are charged with one of these offenses involving a child — can have long-lasting effects on your life. Not only might you be subject to lengthy prison sentences and large fines, but also a conviction for one of these offenses can affect your ability to obtain a job or even a student loan, particularly because you will be required to register with the sex offender database as a sexual deviant. If you or a loved one has been charged with one or more of these sex crimes, or other sex crimes in Pennsylvania, contact one of the Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys by calling (717) 208-2622 or contact us online today for your free and confidential consultation.