Statutory Sexual Assault

Contact Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys at Kelly, Parker & Cohen, LLP today for your FREE CONSULTATION.

Criminal charges that involve sex with a child are extremely serious. The consequences of a sex crime involving a child can include jail time and significant fines. But a conviction can also affect your ability to obtain a job, student loan, and all Megan’s Law offense convictions require registration with the sex offender database.

Sex assault charges arise under circumstances or situations not covered by a rape or involuntary deviate sexual intercourse charge. If you have sex with a person,

  • Who you are not married to;
  • Who is under the age of sixteen; and
  • You are eleven or more years older than that person,

Then you may be found guilty of statutory sexual assault. In this situation, the sex assault of a child is considered a first degree felony, which can include up to twenty years of jail time and a fine of up to $25,000.

Additionally, if you have sex with a person,

  • Who you are not married to;
  • Who is sixteen years old; and,
  • You are four years older than that person,

Then you may also be found guilty of statutory sexual assault. However, in this situation, the crime is considered a second degree felony that can include jail time of up to ten years and a fine of up to $25,000.

The sex assault of a child can result in punishment that is more severe than if you were to engage in the sex assault of an adult. Other sex crimes involving children also have the potential for greater penalties. For example, an indecent assault charge can arise if you engaged in indecent contact with a child under the age of thirteen or caused a child under the age of thirteen to come in contact with your bodily fluids such as semen, urine, or feces, and the purpose of the contact was to satisfy your sexual desires.An indecent assault charge involving a child may be considered a first degree misdemeanor, which can include up to five years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine. However, the charge may be elevated to a felony depending on the circumstances.

Additionally, the aggravated indecent assault of a child occurs when, like rape, you forcibly penetrate the genitals or anus of a child under the age of thirteen. Ordinarily, the aggravated indecent assault of an adult is considered a second degree felony. However, the offense is elevated to a first degree felony if the victim was younger than thirteen. A conviction of aggravated indecent assault of a child can include imprisonment of up to twenty years, and a fine of up to $25,000.

Remember, you can also be charged with unlawful contact with a minor if you intentionally contact a minor, and you try to meet them to engage in a sexual act. This offense is considered a third degree felony where penalties can include up to seven years of jail time and a $15,000 fine.

Being charged with one or more of these criminal offenses involving children can have serious,long-lasting effects on your day-to-day life, particularly because you will be required to register as a sex offender. If you have been charged with one or more of these sex crimes, or other sex crimes in Pennsylvania, contact one of the Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys by calling (717) 920-2220 or contact us online today for your free and confidential consultation.