Sexual Assault and Indecent Assault

Contact Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys at Kelly, Parker & Cohen today for your FREE CONSULTATION.

Criminal offenses involving sex can have serious consequences. Sex crime convictions can result in lengthy jail sentences and significant fines. Usually, a sex crime conviction will also require that you register with the sex offender database, which can affect your ability to obtain certain types of jobs and even affect your day-to-day interactions with others.

Sexual Assault

A sexual assault occurs when a person engages in sexual intercourse or deviate sexual intercourse with a person against their consent, and those actions are not covered by a rape charge or an involuntary deviate sexual intercourse charge. Sexual assault is considered a second-degree felony, which can result in jail time of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $25,000.

Indecent Assault

You can be charged with indecent assault if you have indecent contact with another or cause another person to come in contact with your bodily fluids such as semen, urine or feces, and the purpose of the contact was to satisfy your sexual desires, and:

  • You do so without that person’s consent;
  • You do so by force;
  • You do so by threat of force;
  • The victim is unconscious or incapable of knowing what is happening;
  • The victim is impaired by alcohol or drugs in such a way that they cannot consent or cannot resist the sexual encounter;
  • The victim suffers from a mental disability in such a way that they cannot consent;
  • The victim is younger than 13; or
  • The victim is younger that 16, you are four or more years older than the victim, and you are not married to the victim.

An indecent assault charge may be considered a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances. Depending on the level of the offense, you can face up to seven years in jail, and a fine as significant as $15,000.

Aggravated Indecent Assault

You can be charged with aggravated indecent assault when, like rape, you forcibly penetrate someone else’s genitals or anus, and there is no medical, hygienic or law enforcement reason to do so and:

  • You do so without that person’s consent;
  • You do so by force;
  • You do so by threat of force;
  • The victim is unconscious or incapable of realizing the penetration is happening;
  • The victim is impaired by alcohol or drugs in such a way that they cannot consent or resist the penetration;
  • The victim suffers from a mental disability and is incapable of consenting;
  • The victim is younger than 13; or
  • The victim is younger than 16, you are four or more years older than the victim, and you are not married to the victim.

Aggravated indecent assault is considered a second-degree felony, which can include jail time of up to 10 years and a fine of $25,000. However, the offense is elevated to a first-degree felony if the victim is younger than 13.

Being charged with sexual assault or indecent assault is very serious. If you have been charged with one or more of these sex crimes, or other sex crimes in Pennsylvania, contact one of the Central Pennsylvania Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys by calling (717) 208-2622 or contact us online today for your free and confidential consultation.